It is currently Fri Jul 20, 2018 4:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: 96 legacy transmission conversion
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 12:46 am 
Subie Driver

hey guys,

so i have a 1996 legacy, 250k (engine still running strong!) that has a transmission that seems to be slipping pretty bad. im a delivery driver, and even though the legacy is an automatic, my preference is standard. since i bought the car (even though it was pretty ugly, it was love at first sight) i had considered swapping the tranny. as of late, i had gotten pretty serious, and when i was faced with dragging it out to my brothers 50 miles away to put some serious work into it or selling it, i made up my mind that i wanted to keep this car, and it needed to have a stick. now im a new guy when it comes to mechanics, and i know that especially for myself, this is a serious undertaking. i have people who can help me, but right now im just looking to find the process (im hoping for a step by step that would have a list of parts that need to be replaced or bought) of doing the matter, mainly so i can get a list of new parts i will need so i can price them. now if there is already a thread that can tell me everything i would need to know, please point me in that direction. if not, i am eager to gain this new knowledge! i have a strong passion about cars, and i love subarus (we had 3ft of snow in one night this past winter, and she powered through it like a champ. never left me stranded, never got her into a situation i couldnt get her out of), and i am aware that this is a task i should NOT undertake by myself. like i mentioned previously, i have people who can assist me, who have some (if not plenty) experience doing this. but i live under a budget (this is a project im not expecting to finish until at least winter, mainly because there is other work on the vehicle that needs to be done), and even though they would just be there to supervise, i plan